Skip to content

this is a ramble induced by insomnia that starts with tattoos and ends with Palin

October 1, 2008

 

(I read the bible. I know what it says. I respect Christians, and I celebrate Christ with those who don’t defame Him, but live His word humbly and without hypocrisy. . This includes almost ALL christians I know, but these Christians seem to be absent from the government and this frightens me.)

http://www.biblebelievers.com/watkins_tattoos/bible.html

Gosh. I need more tattoos. Bigger ones.

The author says in one part of this very interesting document “The birth of the tattoo has always born the fruits of pagan religion and mysticism”

awesome. Make mine a double.

 

See here’s the thing. He’s right, for one. The abominations of leviticus are pretty darn clear on this. Of course, Jesus said that wasn’t the law anymore but whatever. He picks out a couple of baby- killing thou shalt nots from leviticus too, and THEN weasels out of getting a haircut. Wanna go to red lobster and talk about it?

BUt that is an interesting point, that he has there, too, that tattooing has ‘sparked a surge in mysticism and paganism’ He says children get tattoos as young as 8! Who does this?? OK) here- if my kid was diabetic, or  had some dangerous condition, I may consider getting a bottom of the foot tattoo health warning on them as a baby… or maybe if i had to leave my baby in the ICU for a month, to make sure I got back the same baby..? or if they were identical triplets or something I would get one dot 2 dot 3 dots to tell them apart?? I am struggling to think of a reason that some reasonable person would get their kid a tattoo. I am ‘moderately’ tattooed. When i grow up i want to be ‘heavily tattooed’ but i would whup my kids arse if they got a tat before they were 18.

I digress. But maybe this christian guy is right, that tattoos presage the beginning of an age of mysticism.

Unlike this guy however, i think this is a fine idea.

BTW, the reason I am thinking about tattoss in regard to the bible is that I just heard that Palin has lipliner tattoos. Which is hilarious and got me thinking about

“Let the woman learn in silence with all subjection. But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence. For Adam was first formed, then Eve. And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression. Notwithstanding she shall be saved in childbearing, if they continue in faith and charity and holiness with sobriety” (1 Tim 2:11-12).

Um now If I am not MISTAKEN and I never AM. Timothy is is the NEW testament. I.e. the current law, not the one repealed by Christ. [Gal23-29 et al]

Why is it that no one has mentioned this?? SInce when did fundamentalism decide they can pick and choose their bible verses? Hey Sarah, how ’bout you sit down and shut up like a good bible beater?  How are they doing the mental contortions necessary to put her in white house?

You can’t have your cake and eat it too, can you?

Of course you can. You are republican. You’ll not only have your cake, and eat it-you’ll take mine too. And then tell me you are a patriot for helping me eat my fucking cake.

Sometimes I wish I was a Christian, if I was, and I had that fire and those clear instructions- hell wouldn’t know what hit it. But I don’t. I have a goddess given brain instead, not instructions. I must find a Law and live it, and face a judge in this life, every day. I cannot sin and be washed clean by magic words. When I sin I must make it right, I must repay my debt in service and humility. I don’t get to enjoy the protection of the government or the respect of strangers for every damn nutty thing I do. But I still do it. Almost always privately. 

 I wish I could be a fire and brimstone minister to say these things to you. We are in a battle for the soul of our country. The endtimes may be coming, indeed, if these fundies get their hand on the button. I want someone who is at least certain of their own damnation with their hand on the red button, not someone who is looking forward to seeing Jesus. This is like letting the suicide bomber drive the bus. Are we going to have the final death throes of the dark ages, the warmongers, mediocrity worshipping, vile hypocrites run the country into the ground for real? Or are we going to strike a blow for a future- (any future at all will do for me, as long it’s above ground. This is a war of reason and peace vs  faith- not your faith- theirs, or else. This isn’t about politics or the economy, this is about a rising theocracy. Don’t be blind. Yes, money will squeeze you till you bleed, but that is diverting our attention from this menace of fundamentalism, crushing reason and peace on all sides.  

This is a translation of the Lord’s(?) Prayer from the original aramic.  Cosmic birther doesn’t sound much like Lord to me, sounds more like ‘Lady’ but whatevs.

 O cosmic Birther of all radiance!
Soften the ground of our being and carve out a space
within us where your Presence can abide.
 Fill us with your creativity so that we may be
empowered to bear the fruit of your mission.
Let each of our actions bear fruit in accordance with our desire.
 Endow us with the wisdom to produce and share
what each being needs to grow and flourish.
Untie the tangled threads of destiny that bind us,
as we release others from the entanglement of past mistakes.
 Do not let us be seduced by that which
would divert us from our true purpose,
but illuminate the opportunities of the present moment.
For you are the ground and the fruitful vision,
the birth, power and fulfillment,
as all is gathered and made whole once again.

 

I am holding a public prayer vigil, before the election. If you are interested in coming, email or comment.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

