Skip to content

the real mccain

October 14, 2008

 

I just read this profile of John McCain. Wow.

You will never see me not stand for the national anthem, or not be respectful to soldiers and their sacrifices. I am not that kind of liberal, I may be a peacnik hippie, but being a warrior for your country is an honorable thing to do, and I will not disrespect the country my ancestors loved. My grandparents came here to the USA to escape persecution and find a better life,  and served honorably. I admire military service, though find myself unable to perform it. For the first time in my life I am questioning young people who want to join the armed forces NOW, of all times when the commander in chief is so … fucking stupid.  Not because I don’t think it is an honorable impulse to serve, but because I don’t want to see their precious lives wasted in service of greed, instead of lived in service to a great country.

I am not a democrat, by party affiliation. I only vote democrat when our country is in such great danger from right wing nutjobs,  Generally, I vote with the canidate that I actually agree with or failing that, if they all suck, I vote libertarian.  I admired McCain in 2000 and would have voted for him if he would have won the primary. I am so glad I didn’t. It’s odd to be old enough now to have voted in November elections 17 times. To remember a Reagan presidency, and to remember my hawkish Ayn Rand fueled high school beliefs. That person still exists in me, that objectivist who still would put personal freedom ahead of about anything. but so tempered by life, so tempered by the shock of realizing my own privilege in this world that it seems very far away. I can’t help but see someone fixated on McCain and Palin as someone naive,  who has never had their eyes opened to the reality of corruption, the depth of cynicism politicians posess in the face of other people’s desperation. You are so safe in your little white houses, you can afford this orgy of self deception called the republican party, in 2008.

Wake up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

