Skip to content

happy mama moment

March 20, 2009

Yesterday Zilla got sick at school and by the time she came home she was a wreck. I got her in and laid her on the couch. After that drama, it took me a bit to realize the other one was late. I don’t generally get too worried- Grandview is very small and he is very very forgetful. I don’t go looking for him until 45 minutes late or so. After about 30 minutes after he’s expected, he bursts through the front door MOM!!

SHHHHH- your sister is resting and sick!
Hi!

Boy: (whispers loudly) MOM!! come see what I brought you!

Me: What? Oh the snake? (there is a teeny garter snake on the porch, a gift from the always thoughtful kitties)

Boy: NO! Come see! It’s Big!

So I go outside, and he directs me to the side yard where I see…This.

wtf? My boy is not small. This chair is huge. He walks home from school

Boy: I found it in someones garbage and I thought we could use it, or you could find someone who does.

Me: um..sure! Ok..how did you get that home???

Boy: Well, Jake and I decided to get it, but we couldn’t carry it, so we rolled it down the street.

Me: OH it’s on wheels..

Boy: NO we rolled it on it’s side. A bunch of kids from school saw it, and laughed but I knew you would be happy

Me:!

So this kid, sees a chair in the dumpster that has some use in it, and decides that :I: can and WILL, without a doubt in his mind, find someone that needs it, so he ROLLS a 50 lb chair a mile down the street despite being laughed at.

I am pretty amused, but mostly proud and flattered. What a cool kid. What an awesome thing to have my child think ‘I know my mom will use this to help someone’.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. amazonmom permalink
    March 20, 2009 7:36 am

    Want help re-upholstering it? It could look really cool with new fun fabric!

  2. March 20, 2009 11:51 am

    Awesome!

  3. March 23, 2009 11:51 pm

    What a great kid you have. Cool chair too.

    (Been reading the other posts too…I hope something works out soon with healthcare.)

Leave a Reply

