Skip to content

sad

May 16, 2009

I wish I understood why women’s site like Jezebel or women’s organizations like…well like ANY I have ever been a part of always deteriorate into mean girl stabby fests. This just breaks my heart. It starts in 1st grade, watching the girls assert their power by inclusion and exclusion; I get it, women feel powerless in some respects and inclusion and exclusion makes one feel more in control, but damn. We are hurting our own communities, our own sisters.
I actually gave up on Jezebel for a while, during the octo mom fad- I got ill reading what all the generally kind and freedom loving feminists were saying about this woman. She brought out the worst in people, for sure. I don’t know. This just makes me sad. I think I need a Jezebel break again…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Teena permalink
    May 25, 2009 8:43 pm

    Sad, indeed. For about a year now, I’ve been lamenting over and over that “the sisterhood is broken.” I wish I knew what to do to fix it.

Leave a Reply

